DIGIART SELF PORTRAIT

25 Feb

n10224941_37818878_175.jpg

9 Responses to “DIGIART SELF PORTRAIT”

  1. ltannenbaum 26/02/2008 at 4:44 PM #

    I really enjoyed your use of color. I also really liked the the way your eye flows down through the image. I normally am not a huge fan of such large text, but I think it works really well with the theme of your self-portrait. If the picture in the right hand corner is important for the image, I might suggest moving it because it gets somewhat lost behind the SWAT.

    -Lindsey

  2. julie 26/02/2008 at 11:36 PM #

    aesop rock is amazing…i think you said you got to meet him? jealous…

  3. camctavish 27/02/2008 at 2:38 AM #

    After being in a drawing class with you and seeing the different things you experimented with in there and finally having you use graffiti to create your projects it was cool to see you use it in another form. This piece is awesome. Seeing all the different layers interact with one another and the way that you played with the opacity of them brings them together even more. I feel like this is an artwork that I could look at over and over and be constantly finding new things within it which is something I think makes something successful. Props! Stick to what you know and it’ll work, add some new things and go into new realms within the things that you like to work with and it’s bound to stand out.

  4. bseieroe 27/02/2008 at 4:56 PM #

    i like the colors you used throughout your work. i think it is more aesthetically pleasing when there is not too many different colors. i also like the swat team and that you made them pink. i wanted to ask if the green on the top right side was a bar code, and if not what is it?

  5. Allison 28/02/2008 at 7:57 AM #

    I really like the colors involved. They are really out there and they grab your attention. I like the layer of pink over the swat team because it is a little contrasting and adds a lot to the actual picture that you chose to include. I really like how you used a stencil to make this graffiti style self portrait. The graffiti aspect becomes a lot more complex and perfected when you can use stencils and layers. It adds a lot of interest for me. I also like how the layers work together to make the image complex and interesting to work out. I also liked how you combined both the stencil figures with real figures.

  6. merrittashley 29/02/2008 at 1:31 AM #

    I think you did a really great job combining found elements and the graphic art style that you like. You did a great job combining all the required elements to create a really original and unique image. There are so many different elements, but it doesnt seem overwhelming. I like your use of color, it’s really strong with the contrast of the pink and green. Great job!

  7. redawigle 29/02/2008 at 2:50 AM #

    The composition of your piece is really strong, the negative space, and I apologize for talking about negative space because it sounds artsy and pretentious but in this case it only serves to compliment you. I’m not sure if the image in the right hand corner is your tag or not but I’m assuming it is and I think it’s a clever way to mark your territory in the piece. Really unsystematic but effective layering, and of course I have to say again how much I love the idea and execution of a pink swat team. Fucking brilliant. When I say that its reminiscent of Jamie Reid I mean it as a total compliment. It definitely stands on its own as a piece of art but the graphic quality and the text would also lend themselves well to album artwork. You should start a band.

  8. essentialm 29/02/2008 at 3:10 AM #

    I really like this image. I think its amazing that if you cant do art you want to be on the swat team. I also really like that you put the swat in pink Very nice. It give me a good since of certain parts of your persona. I also enjoy your graffiti style it keeps my interest. Liked this a lot, look forward to seeing what else you do this semester.

  9. ddiessner 02/03/2008 at 7:15 PM #

    I am jealous of your ability to pull off the graffiti look successfully. Its a lot harder than lot of people give it credit for. I agree with everyone when they comment on the pink swat team. I sense of humor, badassness, and artistic talent really comes through your self portrait. My only complaint is that the image of you gets lost i little, but other than that…

Leave a Reply

